The making of LORD OF THE DONUTS, part 1

The Lord of the Donuts is a brickfilm series created by myself, tenny1028. Several factors lead up to the creation of Lord of the Donuts. One was a quote I saw on the LEGO Messageboards. This guy named Johnathan000 had an interesting signature. It said, “Author of the Famous Quote, ‘GET HIM, He’s got donuts!!!'” I really liked that quote and said it a lot, especially when I saw someone with donuts.

Another of those factors was the release of the Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey. I was very excited when it was released, because I was very excited a year ago when it was announced, and I wanted to continue with that enthusiasm.

For Christmas of 2012 I received the LEGO set from The Lord of the Rings theme 9471 Uruk-hai Attack. It came with Éomer, his horse, a Rohan soldier, and four Uruk-hai. I didn’t know who these characters were, because I had not read the books or seen the movie. So this made me want to see the movies, but for that to happen, I had to read the books (House rule, generally unavoidable in my family). So I started reading Lord of the Rings.

Also, 79000 Gollum’s Cave from The Hobbit theme was sitting under the tree that year. I was excited for that set because it had Bilbo, the Ring, and Sting. I opened up the box, and SURPRISE! I found two golden rings in the box, and also two small daggers, one of which Bilbo calls “Sting.”

Finally I received a total of $60 in iTunes money for Christmas. That’s when I found two apps on the Mac App Store I use almost daily now. The first one was iMovie. Before this point I had the dumb version of iMovie, iMovie ’08, and I couldn’t do much with it. the latest version at that time, iMovie ’11, had all sorts of cool things: more titles, extra backgrounds, Trailers, and the ability to adjust the speed of a video. I also found an interesting program called iStopmotion 3, and apparently it was on sale, because I bought it for almost $30 and the next time I checked the price, it was at $50. It had the ability to use my iPod as a camera, or a DSLR. And that was the deciding point. Up until that point I could not find a stopmotion app that uses a DSLR or an iOS device as a camera. But iStopmotion was the perfect program for me and I had the money for it. I still use it, after one and a half years.

Animation for Lord of the Donuts began on December 26, 2012. I had just bought iStopmotion, and I wanted to test the program out, so I got out my new LEGO set, and started animating. I did the first few shots in the kitchen, which has a bay window. The windows were large, and let in a lot of natural light (There was also heavy snow on the ground). So it wasn’t the best idea to animate there, but I figured it was just a test. Then I got an idea. I looked at one of the rings from the LEGO set, and saw how Bilbo held it, and I was thinking that the ring, if it were on the same scale as a LEGO Minifigure, it would be the same size as a donut if the donut was to scale.

Thus, Lord of the Donuts.

This is the first part of the story. The second part will be coming out soon.

About tenny1028

I love LEGO Universe, I am EXTREMELY disappointed that it had to close down, and my LU name was TheOddWarrior
This entry was posted in LEGO, Stories and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Enter a Comment on the post...

